About Court

Administrative jurisdiction in the Republic of Croatia is exercised by administrative courts. Administrative courts are administrative courts of first instance and the High Administrative Court of the Republic of Croatia. There are four administrative courts: Administrative court in Osijek, Rijeka, Split and Zagreb. The High Administrative Court of the Republic of Croatia is seated in Zagreb.

Administrative courts adjudicate on the following:

1. actions against individual decisions of the public authorities;

2. actions against an act of the public authorities;

3. actions against a failure to issue a decision or to act on the part of the body of public law within the time limit fixed by law;

4. actions against administrative contracts and the enforcement of administrative contracts; and

5. in other cases laid down by law.

The High Administrative Court adjudicates on the following:

1. appeals against the judgments of administrative courts and rulings against which an appeal is permissible;

2. lawfulness of general acts (bylaws);

3. conflict of jurisdiction between administrative courts;

4. in other cases laid down by law.

An Administrative court decides in the form of a single judge.

The High Administrative Court decides in a panel of three judges, other than concerning the lawfulness of general acts (bylaws) when it shall adjudicate in a panel of five judges.

There are 21 judges at the High Administrative Court who decide in three departments: I Social law department, II Financial and civil servant law department and III Property law department. There is also a special panel competent for reviewing the general acts (bylaws).

President of the High Administrative Court is a judge M.sc. Inga Vezmar Barlek, and Vice – president is a judge Ph.D. Sanja Otočan.